Vin de Champagne Awards finalists announced

Eleven finalists in the 42nd biennial Vin de Champagne Awards have been announced. They are;

Professional section

  • Peta Baverstock (SA)
  • Samantha Faircloth (Qld)
  • Anja Lewis (WA)
  • Kara Maisano (Vic)
  • Cameron O’Keefe (Vic)
  • Saskia Valenti (WA)

Amateur section

  • Nicky Goodyer (NSW)
  • Tim Heath (NSW)
  • Nicole Smith (Qld)
  • Michael Solomons (NSW)
  • Sara Underdown (SA)

Entrants were required to write comprehensive essay answers to a series of questions about the history, viticulture, winemaking, service and culture of Champagne.

The finalists will go to Sydney on September 26 where they will undergo a tasting and oral exam in front of a panel headed by yours truly.

The winners will be announced at a gala black-tie dinner at the Four Seasons Hotel where chef Mark Best of Pei Modern will create a menu designed to partner an array of Champagnes.

The competition is organised by the Champagne Bureau in Sydney.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *